Advanced

Re: 360 Challenge

[Cancelled] 360 Challenge
May 16, 2016 02:49AM
Is it possible to have a checker written for a 360 degree challenge within Maryland boundaries, where I can change the posted coordinates easily? I'm not a programmer. I'm hoping to place this as soon as GS allows new challenge caches again. Thanks.
May 16, 2016 03:24AM
If I understand your question correctly, the answer is no. There's no facility to provide variable inputs to a checker other than the user you wish to run it on.

The question I have for you is: what exactly are you wanting the challenge to be? If you want it to be 360 degrees around the cacher's home coordinates or a cache of their choosing, it won't be possible under the current checker framework. A 360 degree challenge around a fixed point (for example, a landmark in Baltimore) would be possible.
May 16, 2016 03:35AM
The challenge I have in mind is intended to be from a fixed point that will be posted on the challenge cache (either Posted coordinates or something close to it), but I haven't yet determined that point. The change I mentioned would be a one-time change prior to publishing the cache, once I get a viable location. Does that help? Thanks.
May 16, 2016 03:42AM
That should definitely be possible. Just post the coordinates and GC code with the full details of the challenge once you've got it decided.

It looks like all the 360 degree challenges created so far have been done with non-standard checkers, so a new script will be needed. This would mean it probably won't be an immediate response once you give the details (unless the script is written in the meantime). If I get a bit of free time I'll look at writing a script.
May 16, 2016 04:00AM
Thanks - I'll get you some details shortly!
May 28, 2016 03:16AM