Return to Project-GC

Welcome to Project-GC Q&A. Ask questions and get answers from other Project-GC users.

If you get a good answer, click the checkbox on the left to select it as the best answer.

Upvote answers or questions that have helped you.

If you don't get clear answers, edit your question to make it clearer.

0 votes
392 views
Is it allowed, to place the first station of a Multi-Cache within 162 meters from an other cache, when the first station of the Multi is not physical (a task, that gives the coordinates of next station) and when the final is outside of the 162 m - Range?

Or is it allowed, to place the final within the 162 m - Range, while the first station is outside the 162 m - Range?

Or is neither the first nor the second of the above Situations allowed ?
in Miscellaneous by Joker96 (2.4k points)
Thank You for your answeres. I was in doubt, because I didnĀ“t see Multis near other caches, although this should be possible, when the first stage is only virtual.

3 Answers

+2 votes
 
Best answer
A virtual stage can be nearer than 162 meters, but a physical has to be outside the 162 meters circle as said in the other answers.

BUT the stages within the multi can be within 162 meters from each other (also physical stages) as long as the are not nearer then 162 meters from other caches.
by TeamM2M (980 points)
selected by Joker96
+3 votes
As far as I remember the rules of geocaching.com each physical stage/cache needs to respect the 162m rule.

In your examples this should mean, that the having a non-physical first stage of your multi within 162m of another physical cache should be possible. However the final (which is for sure a physical stage) cannot be inside the 162m radius.
by Lineflyer (4.5k points)
This is correct. All physical stages of a cache must be outside of all 162-meter circles (both for physical stages and for the final) of all other caches.

A virtual stage for a multi may overlap with a physical stage for another cache, though.
+1 vote
Your first scenario would be permitted but your second one wouldn't.
by VDotM (1.7k points)
...