Return to Project-GC

Welcome to Project-GC Q&A. Ask questions and get answers from other Project-GC users.

If you get a good answer, click the checkbox on the left to select it as the best answer.

Upvote answers or questions that have helped you.

If you don't get clear answers, edit your question to make it clearer.

0 votes
Groundspeak insists that Luxembourg has 3 states and 12 counties.

Why then does the Luxembourg badge show me as having 4 of 12 states?

And why does the Luxembourg map show me as having 4 of 12 regions?

I would expect both to be 3 of 3.
in Bug reports by BaSHful (390 points)

2 Answers

+2 votes
Best answer
Until 03 October 2015 Luxembourg was subdivided into three districts, as they were: Diekirch, Grevenmacher and Luxembourg. Those districts never represented what in Belgium and the Netherlands for example are the so called provinces, or the Bundesländer in Germany and Austria.

Those three districts were abolished then, but the cantons still exist: Capellen, Clervaux, Diekirch, Echternach, Esch-sur-Alzette, Grevenmacher, Luxembourg, Mersch, Redange, Remich, Vianden and Wiltz.
by Gubemax (1.6k points)
selected by BaSHful
So.... Project-GC are correctly reflecting reality while Groundspeak are still showing the old and now defunct regions some 3 years after the change. Oh well, I'll just have to accept the demotion of my Badge Gen flag badge.
+1 vote
I checked this when I was degraded from having all 3 to only 3 of 12. Luxembourg had 3 "regions" (I do not remember what they called them), at the level below the the national leven. Then there was 12 (or maybe it was 15) cantons, and then 100+ municipalities. They had an administrativre reform, where they eliminated the "Region" levet. Meaning that now there are 12 cantons (I think they call them cantons), and then 100+ municipalities
by Teddy Steiff (190 points)