Return to Project-GC

Welcome to Project-GC Q&A. Ask questions and get answers from other Project-GC users.

If you get a good answer, click the checkbox on the left to select it as the best answer.

Upvote answers or questions that have helped you.

If you don't get clear answers, edit your question to make it clearer.

Feature request: Notification of posted photos

+8 votes
73 views
This has been mentioned before, but was buried under a different topic.

Currently we can get email notifications when favourite points are posted to a cache. It would be nice to have the same facility with posted photographs, as personally I would like to see them, but I don't get told if any are posted unless it is mentioned in the log.

The email should contain a link to the cache(s), and to the log containing the photo(s), and maybe to the photos themselves.

By the way, this applies to trackables as well as caches. Although I suspect PGC does not collect trackable logs so may not be able to detect trackable photos at the moment.

 

Thanks!
asked Mar 29, 2015 in Feature requests by the Seagnoid (Expert) (34,190 points)
Oh, yes I would like that too :-)
Yes I back it fully!
The main reason for me is quickly identifying spoiler pictures for caches (and photos revealing tracking numbers of trackables).
I assume you already know this exists now. But I updated my answer in case anyone else finds the topic.

1 Answer

0 votes
 
Best answer
This is something that we will look into, definitely. A friend has asked for it a zillion times actually. :)

Ultimately we would also analyze the images to search for exif tags. To alert the cache owner in case it's a myster cache (or equvalient). But this would require us to download all images, which may not be feasible. In my personal opinion, it would be better if Geocaching.com just removed all exif location data.

EDIT: This exist from Sep/Oct 2015.
answered Mar 30, 2015 by magma1447 (Admin) (208,230 points)
edited Oct 1, 2015 by magma1447 (Admin)
This was released 1-2 weeks ago, and can be enabled in settings (clicking the user name in top right, then settings).

It's for paying members only.
...